Video

Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus (Covered by James Arthur)

After hearing Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus, I immediately loved it. I’ll admit that the main reason I listened to the song was because of the controversy surrounding it and the video. However,  the controversy does not overshadow the beauty of the song. Yes, it’s beautiful in a simple, pop way. But for a pop song, it’s very well done.

I kept my love for the song a secret. Well, because I didn’t feel justified in loving it. That is until I heard the cover by James Arthur. I have been a James Arthur fan, basically from the beginning. I loathe the American version of X Factor but I love the UK version of it. I know they’re basically the same thing, but the UK one just works better for me. The same applies for The Voice. I love the American version of The Voice, but something about the UK version just doesn’t work as well as it does here.

I watched James Arthur become the champ of X Factor last year, and I have been following his career since. When he posted a link to this cover on Twitter, I finally felt like someone interrupted Miley’s beautiful song correctly. It’s not my favorite James Arthur cover, but it’s raw emotions give the lyrics a life that Cyrus never did.

Listen to James Arthur’s Wrecking Ball cover below. Better than the original? I think so.

One thought on “Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus (Covered by James Arthur)

Leave a Reply

